For twenty-five years RAF Coningsby based Logistics Squadron Charity Committee (LSCC) have organised a road race affectionately known as The Boston Slog.

Royal Air Force and Civilian personnel irrespective of ability are invited to participate and encouraged to raise funds by individual sponsorship for Cancer Research UK (CR UK) and The British Heart Foundation (BHF).

Twenty-six RAF and nine Civilian competitors including personnel from RAF Waddington took part in the 25th Boston Slog on Thursday 11 October 2012.

The first leg of the race began at RAF Coningsby where the Station Commander, Group Captain ‘Sammy’ Sampson brought the competitors under starter’s orders; also in attendance were three representatives from CR UK. A BHF representative was in attendance prior to the Boston leg of the race, which was started by the Mayor, Councillor Brotherton.

Senior Aircraftman Anthony Robinson (Aviation Fuels) completed the ‘Fun Run’ in 1hr 22min 20sec, the fastest time ever recorded for this event since the first Boston Slog in 1987 and beating his previous record from last year by 5 mins.

Mr Chris O’Rourke (BAE) is a ‘Cycleman’ veteran; this is the 8th year he has competed and the 7th time he has won the challenge.

Mrs Simpson from Cancer Research UK said: “Thank you for inviting me to be there for the start of the race and I am extremely glad that the weather held out for everyone.”

LSCC member, Corporal Alanna Adron-Walk said:  “Thanks go to WESCO Aviation who donated £200 to the fund and a big thank you to everyone for helped to organise this great event as without their assistance it would not be possible.” She added:  “Well done to all the competitors – we hope to see you back next year for the 26th Boston Slog.”

Competitors are in the process of collecting pledged monies; the total amount is expected to be in excess of £750 which will be divided equally between the BHF and CR UK.

This years ‘Slog’ consisted of three simultaneous events:

The Iron Man – A 14-mile cycle from RAF Coningsby to Boston and a 14-mile run back.

Winner: Corporal Latchford (TMSF(Arm) – RAF Coningsby) – 2hr 38min 03sec.

The Cycleman – A 28-mile cycle from RAF Coningsby to Boston and back again.

Winner: Mr Chris O’Rourke (BAE) – 1hr 19min 132sec.

The Fun Run – A 14-mile jog from Boston to RAF Coningsby.

Winner: Senior Aircraftman Anthony Robinson (RAF Coningsby) – 1hr 22min 20sec.