Over the past 3 years the Air Traffic Golf Championships have seen the Coningsby controllers take a firm grip on several of the top individual and team prizes.

This year’s event, hosted by RAF Leuchars on 22 May at the picturesque Drumoig Golf Course in the surrounds of St Andrews, was always going to be an uphill task due to having one less man in what should have been teams of 3. The Scottish summer was a distant memory and the combination of showers and near gale force winds made an already challenging golf course trickier for all teams. The day began inauspiciously for our visiting team with Cpl John Cox-Tomlinson, a 2011 winner of the individual handicap and team trophy, losing no less than 20 balls on his way to card 17 stapleford points and a consolation pint at the halfway stage of the 36 hole stapleford event. Remarkably, his one straight shot, won the nearest the pin competition. The other Coningsby players rolled in only slightly improved scores of 33, 27 and 24 points, with the only saving grace being the relatively low top points tally of 39 for the morning by Boscombe Down.

The afternoon’s play saw a remarkable turnaround for the Coningsby team with one player in particular playing the round of his life. Sgt Nick Ball, last year’s individual runner up, re-found his fine form to fire in a score 10-under his handicap for 46 points, a combined total of 70 points for the day and good enough for 2nd place in the individual competition for the second year in a row. Good luck playing off significantly less than a 24 handicap next year! Cpl Cox-Tomlinson improved to 28 points for the second 18 holes for a total score of 45 points and combined with Sgt Ball’s efforts they secured 4th place in the team tournament. The ever solid Flt Lt Paul Greenham scored 32 points on the closing 18 holes to back up his first round effort for 59 points in total. The top individual prize was taken by 2011’s winner of the gross trophy, Flt Lt Ben Wadd who backed up his 33 points in the morning with 38 coming home for a total of 71, and combined with Flt Lt Greenham’s score of 59, meant Coningsby reclaimed the Team Trophy for the second time in 3 years.

Thanks to RAF Leuchars for organising a fine event in what will be their penultimate year before closure and also congratulations to WO Mark Elsbury of RAF Boscombe Down who retained the Shearer Moffat trophy for best gross score.

Flt Lt B Wadd